How would you take a technical concept and teach it to a friend or peer that has never heard of it?

Mohd Danish
1 min readNov 30, 2020

Many times my friends ask me to explain technical concepts as I am a Software Engineering Student.

What I do is I don’t use much jargon and try to explain in easy words and try to relate it to their profession. I make it easy by giving real-life examples.

For example,

  • If I have to explain Object Oriented Programming to a friend who is an Automobile Engineer, I will relate the car to an object. The color of the car is an attribute. The speed is the method(function).
  • If I have to explain about Blockchain technology to a friend who is a CA, I will relate it to a ledger and explain.

I ask whether they know the topics which are similar to the question they ask, then explain it. Also, I don’t explain all the minute details at once, because it will confuse. I will explain the basics of the concept. When they understand the basics, they can do their own research or ask from me, more details about the topic later. I also share the resources from where they can learn about the topic.

--

--